The Greatest of Poets

05/22/02

The greatest of poets inspiring me on
Some never listened, some never gone
I struggle to find the magic of touch
The golden orator I yearn oh so much
To wring out much more from the flow of my words
To capture the joy in the song of the birds
Elusive capricious they slip through my hands
Like sunsets of gold in all of the lands
In all of the places on mountains in vales
In the rills of a stream in the silence of sails
I hear them and taste them my eyes bathed with much
I reach out so gentle, reach out and touch
And yet I have failed in molding my verse
Oh so plain yet profound not obtuse nor adverse
Into words on this page anything like
What I felt at the time on a beach or a pike
Oh what profoundness flowed all around
From Pablo Neruda true love in his sound
Why can I never aspire to his heights
Find wonderful metaphors bathing in lights
With methods of majesty words on this page
To span every eon, span every age
The greatest of poets inspiring me on
Some ever listened, some ever gone.

Leave a Reply

